Questions concerning improving at history

This forum is for discussing tournament formats, question styles, strategy, and such.
Flightless Steller's jay
Kimahri

Questions concerning improving at history

Post by Flightless Steller's jay »

I have been lurking around on these forums for a while now, but here recently I have decided to join and make my first post. I have always been a relatively decent generalist, but I have always found a huge roadblock within history. I have now decided to break free of my ineptitude in history and actually dedicate time to studying and improving in history. When doing this within the last month I have found huge struggles in learning history, so I have a couple of questions about how I can get good at history.

1. Soaking up history knowledge
One of my biggest pitfalls I have noticed with my studying of history is that I can't soak up history knowledge like I can other subjects. For example, whenever I am studying one of my better categories, most notably science, I can very easily soak up the knowledge and things I see in clues. WIth science I never have to spend immense time dedicating things likes names, experiments, or concepts to memory. Meanwhile, with history, I have to spend immense time dedicating people, dates, wars, battles,or organizations to memory. Is this something can be broken out of? Is there any possible methods I can use which will make it easier to just naturally remember history concepts? Or am I just fated to never be a good at history.

2. Gaining decent knowledge of the canon
The idea of getting a sense of knowledge and scope of the history canon has been a seemingly impossible hill to climb in my quizbowl journey. Everytime I would study a packet or hop on protobowl to study, it seems I am always introduced with endless new history things I have never even heard of. Is there a way to get a good idea of the canon besides just reading packets?