Starting a team at Cornell College in Mount Vernon, Iowa

This forum is for anyone seeking advice on starting a collegiate team, branching out into new types of tournaments, or other "how-to" aspects of collegiate quizbowl.
VelarApproximant
Lulu

Starting a team at Cornell College in Mount Vernon, Iowa

Post by VelarApproximant »

Hello! I'm Luke Henson and I'm studying at Cornell College.* I'm trying to start a Quiz Bowl team! I had about five people at my first meeting and I think we may be moving to two or three practices a week so a whole bunch of people can join in without scheduling conflicts.

Everyone really would like to compete with other teams. Is there a way to find out about upcoming Midwest competitions? Is anyone in the general vicinity (Iowa, Minnesota, Illinois, Nebraska, Missouri), and if not, do you know someone in the community who is? We're close to Chicago for whatever it's worth.

Thanks!!

*Not to be confused with Cornell University, the noted Ivy League school. My school is in Iowa, so probably better described as "Corn League."
Luke E. Henson
Colorado Early Colleges Aurora Class of 2021
Cornell College Class of 2025

Jack of all categories, indefatigable Jeopardy! viewer, goonerism spuru
Apocolocyntora
Rikku

Re: Starting a team at Cornell College in Mount Vernon, Iowa

Post by Apocolocyntora »

Hey Luke--we've spoken over DMs but I just wanted to make a post here in case there are any other new or revived local teams looking for information.