Need help on how to study

New high school teams looking for advice should post here.
adhvaithr7
Lulu

Need help on how to study

Post by adhvaithr7 »

I have a few questions about how to study quiz bowl. Right now, I'm not doing so great, and I wanted a few key tips:

1. What is the best way to study for HSNCT, NHBB Nats and other hard high school tournaments? I am having a hard time right now.

2. How do we get more members for the local quiz bowl club at our school during COVID-19?

3. We are running low on funds, so how do we make sure we are not paying from our own pocket?

If you could give me some advice right now, that would be great.

Thanks!
Adhvaith Ravi
Washington High, 2024
Gen. Winfield Scott Hancock
Wakka

Re: Need help on how to study

Post by Gen. Winfield Scott Hancock »

Hi Adhvaith,

I'm by no means an expert on these things, but I'll give each question my best shot.

1. Hard high school tournaments, especially housewrites, have a lot of trickle-down from collegiate tournaments these days. If you feel comfortable doing so, I might suggest looking at college sets on the easier side, such as EFT and ACF Winter, and examining the questions in the categories you like. Another thing to do is just read a lot in those preferred categories. Books, Wikipedia articles, even watching YouTube videos, just immersing yourself in the worlds of the subjects you want to do well in can expose you to a lot of potential high-level quiz bowl material without making it seem like work.