NAQT IS/HS Level Math

New high school teams looking for advice should post here.
TheScientists
Lulu

NAQT IS/HS Level Math

Post by TheScientists »

I'm new to doing quizbowl (I've only done NHBB to date), and I'm beginning my QB grind. How should I approach to prepping Math?
Wartortullian
Rikku

Re: NAQT IS/HS Level Math

Post by Wartortullian »

Computational math or actual math?
Matt
TheScientists
Lulu

Post by TheScientists »

Both.
matthewspatrick
Lulu

Post by matthewspatrick »

For computational math there are some categories of basic formulas to know (certainly not a complete list):
  • Geometry: areas, perimeters, and interior/exterior angles of common polygons; volumes/surface area of common solids; V - E + F = 2
  • Statistics: mean (arithmetic, harmonic, geometric), median, combinations/permutations, basic probability/expected value
  • Percent growth/decay (including interest/ROI; Rule of 72)
  • Arithmetic/geometric progressions (Nth term and sums)
  • Analytic geometry: slope-intercept line equations, distance between two points, equations for conic sections
  • Trigonometry: values of sine, cosine, and tangent; understanding relationship between those and secant, cosecant, and cotangent; degree/radian conversions
  • Physics: velocity and displacement
  • Chemistry: ideal gas law, Gay-Lussac's Law, Charles's Law, Boyle's Law
An NAQT comp math question will typically provide the hint as to how to calculate the answer. However, if you already know which formula to apply, you can get a jump on performing the actual calculation.
Patrick Matthews
University of Pennsylvania 1989-94
NAQT Member Emeritus and co-founder
I do not speak for NAQT in any way, shape, or form.
DavidB256
Lulu

Post by DavidB256 »

I'm not a dedicated math player, but a surprising amount of the math questions that I do get are because of Numberphile videos.
David Bass (he)
Johns Hopkins University
University of Virginia '23
Jamestown High School '19
Member, PACE
Stained Diviner