Quiz Bowl in India?

New high school teams looking for advice should post here.
Hammerkop
Lulu

Quiz Bowl in India?

Post by Hammerkop »

Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum, but I've been following Quizbowl for about 2 years now. The only problem is that I can't participate in any because I'm in India. I'm a high school student, and I specialize in science, specifically chemistry. I really would like to participate, but there isn't such a thing in India; there are only standard quizzes. I plan to continue in India for undergraduate programs also, so even if I do participate in the US, I would be in a masters program by then. My question is, is there any plan to spread to India at some point, or if not, how do I go about setting up a small league? What will I require?
Thanks for your help!
~Birdie
Krishna "Birdie" Girish
AMC '18
Life List: 521 species!
A Dim-Witted Saboteur
Yuna

Re: Quiz Bowl in India?

Post by A Dim-Witted Saboteur »

Satanic Nightjar wrote:Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum, but I've been following Quizbowl for about 2 years now. The only problem is that I can't participate in any because I'm in India. I'm a high school student, and I specialize in science, specifically chemistry. I really would like to participate, but there isn't such a thing in India; there are only standard quizzes. I plan to continue in India for undergraduate programs also, so even if I do participate in the US, I would be in a masters program by then. My question is, is there any plan to spread to India at some point, or if not, how do I go about setting up a small league? What will I require?
Thanks for your help!
~Birdie
I'm not sure if NAQT has any plans for expansion into India, but International History Bee and Bowl competitions are very much a thing. You can see if there's one near you at this website: http://www.ihbbasia.com/. Regrettably, IHBB doesn't cover much science.