How to find players out of people who don't care

New high school teams looking for advice should post here.
aswiftproposal
Kimahri

How to find players out of people who don't care

Post by aswiftproposal »

Hi all,

I'm new to this thread and website and have been searching for a couple of months now on how to motivate and find players.

First let me tell you my situation so you may have a bit of a better grasp on this. I'm from Kentucky and have participated in the KAAC Academic Team going on 8 years now, I'm an art/humanities person and while Academic Team is a bit different in regards to how things are done, one thing remains consistent throughout; we know things competitively. I'm from a smaller school what most would consider a "Single-A" highschool, therefore we have a small pool to pick from player-wise. It's not only an issue as to whether or not we have a team next year, but also whether or not it will fall apart this year.

Now that my thesis has been stated and all the exposition has been given, I need help on ways to motivate players and bring in new ones. Some have called it "drawing blood from a stone" but I thinks it's possible as long as we give that stone a pen and paper and show him how. It can be done and for that I am certain, but the way of doing it still baffles me. The kids aren't motivated and the non-players don't want to take tests or have to work for that matter. It's frankly getting on my nerves seeing such academic potential go to waste only to be left to the mercy of a central Kentucky community college "education" years later.