Studying Social Science and Philosophy

New high school teams looking for advice should post here.
Pmartc36
Kimahri

Studying Social Science and Philosophy

Post by Pmartc36 »

Hey guys,

I'm a quizbowl newbie who decided to take up Social Science and Philosophy as a focus but I don't know where to start studying.
I've started using Quinterest, Protobowl, and this site; but I haven't found any good strategies or other materials for studying.

Thanks

User was reminded to enable a signature --Mgmt.
AGoodMan
Rikku

Re: Studying Social Science and Philosophy

Post by AGoodMan »

To learn about philosophers (e.g. Montesquieu, Pascal, etc.), I think a careful reading of their respective Wikipedia articles and then cross-referencing Quinterest and old questions for relevant clues should give you a good idea of what you will need to know (at least at the high school level). You can then learn these clues through a flash-card program or other study methods.

And I think this method can generally be applied to social science as well.
Jon Suh
Wheaton Warrenville South High School '16
Harvard '20
i never see pigeons in wheeling
Rikku

Post by i never see pigeons in wheeling »

randomguy1997 wrote:To learn about philosophers (e.g. Montesquieu, Pascal, etc.), I think a careful reading of their respective Wikipedia articles and then cross-referencing Quinterest and old questions for relevant clues should give you a good idea of what you will need to know (at least at the high school level). You can then learn these clues through a flash-card program or other study methods.

And I think this method can generally be applied to social science as well.