writing a charity trivia quiz

Dormant threads from the high school sections are preserved here.
dxdtdemon
Rikku

writing a charity trivia quiz

Post by dxdtdemon »

My synagogue wants to have a charity written quiz, I guess sort of like a pub quiz, and someone suggested that I should write it. I've never written that kind of a quiz before, and so I'm not sure what a good distribution to follow would be. I realize that lots of these kinds of things are predominantly popular culture, and since many of the people who would likely participate are over 50, I'm guessing that I should skew things more towards 60's, 70's, and 80's things. I'm also not sure how much of it should be about Judaism itself.
Jonathan Graham
Beavercreek HS 1999-2003, Ohio State 2003-2007, Wright State (possibly playing)2012-2015
moderator/scorekeeper at some tournaments in Ohio, and sometimes elsewhere
"Ohio has a somewhat fractured quizbowl circuit, with a few small pockets of intense competition (like in Mahoning County) and with the rest scattered around the state."-Chris Chiego
UlyssesInvictus
Yuna

Re: writing a charity trivia quiz

Post by UlyssesInvictus »

Just in case you weren't already, I recommend keeping these questions short--there's a time and place for pyramidality. I agree about the popular culture. Current events also seem to work well, firstly because I guess older people tend to be more news aware, and secondly because in my experience people like being able to recognize what the question was about and talk about. You can probably keep the science, literature, and history to a GK level. Honestly, Jeopardy-style questions always seem to go over well. Good luck! I know you're not describing the most rigorous of competitions, but I always enjoy seeing people have fun at these sort of trivia events.
Raynor Kuang
quizdb.org
Harvard 2017, TJHSST 2013
I wrote GRAPHIC and FILM
vinteuil
Auron

Post by vinteuil »