Adjusting to College Quizbowl

Old college threads.
kitakule
Wakka

Adjusting to College Quizbowl

Post by kitakule »

Hello, I've been lurking on this site for a week or so, and this is my first actual post.

I have played quizbowl since my sixth grade year, for the Episcopal School of Acadiana (Louisiana). We were pretty successful, I'd say, winning two high school state championships (LAAC) and coming in second place at the 2015 NAQT Louisiana State Championship. I'd consider myself a pretty good player, being a generalist with a slight speciality in geography. Now that I'm a freshman at Yale, I'm surrounded by some of the nation's best players and the questions are (understandably) a lot harder. How can I adjust to this new level of play? Should I just try to study and play/read packets as much as I can to keep up with my generalist style, or should I try and pick one area and specialize there?

User was reminded to enable a signature. --Mgmt.
Moses Kitakule
ESA '15
Yale '19
Columbia '28 (???)
AKKOLADE
Sin

Re: Adjusting to College Quizbowl

Post by AKKOLADE »

The key thing is to have fun. Do your best, learn what you can, but enjoy the activity.

Mike Cheyne wrote a great guide to being a fourth scorer on a team here. Max Schindler also wrote a very good guide to studying here. Read those and learn them.

One thing to do is consider the areas where your team is the weakest and learning material for those areas. Of course, if you're like me and don't care one iota about, say, physics, this isn't necessarily the best idea, but if it's something that does spur your interest, go for it.
Fred Morlan
University of Kentucky CoP, 2017
International Quiz Bowl Tournaments, CEO, co-owner
former PACE member, president, etc.
former hsqbrank manager, former NAQT writer & subject editor, former hsqb Administrator/Chief Administrator
naan/steak-holding toll
Auron

Post by naan/steak-holding toll »