New Team, resources to study

This forum is for anyone seeking advice on starting a collegiate team, branching out into new types of tournaments, or other "how-to" aspects of collegiate quizbowl.
Karan_GeoHP
Lulu

New Team, resources to study

Post by Karan_GeoHP »

Hello, my name is Karan Menon. I am a freshman and President of USC Quiz Bowl. Our members have high school quiz bowl experience and we have gone to two ACF tournaments so far, but are finding ACF questions very difficult. What is the best way to prepare for ACF level literature, philosophy, and science?
Karan Menon
University of Southern California Quiz Bowl President(2019-present)
John P. Stevens High School Quiz Bowl President(2017-2019), Coach(2020-present)
[email protected]
CPiGuy
Auron

Re: New Team, resources to study

Post by CPiGuy »

Karan_GeoHP wrote: Mon Jan 27, 2020 1:28 am but are finding ACF questions very difficult.
I'm not going to address the rest of your post bc I don't really have any good suggestions, but you shouldn't feel too intimidated by ACF Regionals -- aside from opens and Nationals, it's probably the hardest tournament on the collegiate calendar. Almost every tournament you play will be easier than it, often significantly. 12.5 PPB is actually quite respectable for a new team on Regionals in my opinion.
Conor Thompson (he/it)
Bangor High School '16
University of Michigan '20
Iowa State University '25
Tournament Format Database
A Dim-Witted Saboteur
Yuna

Re: New Team, resources to study

Post by A Dim-Witted Saboteur »

Karan_GeoHP wrote: Mon Jan 27, 2020 1:28 am Hello, my name is Karan Menon. I am a freshman and President of USC Quiz Bowl. Our members have high school quiz bowl experience and we have gone to two ACF tournaments so far, but are finding ACF questions very difficult. What is the best way to prepare for ACF level literature, philosophy, and science?