Starting a new team in the west

This forum is for anyone seeking advice on starting a collegiate team, branching out into new types of tournaments, or other "how-to" aspects of collegiate quizbowl.
cwt421
Kimahri

Starting a new team in the west

Post by cwt421 »

I'm currently a freshman in college and I'm trying to create a quizbowl team at my college in Oregon. I did quizbowl back in high school all four years when I lived on the east coast, but I know the quizbowl scene isn't as big in the west as it is in the east. Does anyone know much about the quiz bowl scene in states like Oregon, Washington, California, etc? Also, any advice on how to start a new team in general? Thanks!
Last edited by cwt421 on Tue Jan 03, 2017 12:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Smuttynose Island
Forums Staff: Moderator

Re: Starting a new team in the west

Post by Smuttynose Island »

cwt421 wrote:I'm currently a freshman in college and I'm trying to create a quizbowl team at my college in Oregon. I did quizbowl back in high school all four years when I lived on the east coast, but I know the quizbowl scene isn't as big in the west as it is in the east. Does anyone know much about the quiz bowl scene in states like Oregon, Washington, California, etc? Also, any advice on how to states a new team in general? Thanks!

User was reminded to enable a signature
Welcome to the Pacific Northwest! As you mentioned, the Pacific Northwest circuit is currently quite small. There are however teams at UWash, Boise and the University of Oregon. Due to the circuit's small size only 1 or 2 in person tournaments are run each term, typically by UWash. In fact, a mirror of Terrapin is being held there this weekend. The 2 or 3 Skype tournaments that are run each year make up the rest of the Pacific Northwest schedule.