How to Study Quiz Bowl at the College Level

This forum is for anyone seeking advice on starting a collegiate team, branching out into new types of tournaments, or other "how-to" aspects of collegiate quizbowl.
AGoodMan
Rikku

How to Study Quiz Bowl at the College Level

Post by AGoodMan »

In high school, this is how I studied quiz bowl:
1. Read packets.
2. Extensively look things up about a topic (for example, Tosca, Mexican-American War, etc.) on Wikipedia, Quinterest, encyclopedias, YouTube, other sources.
3. Create my own Google Docs notes based on the information I learned
4. Convert notes into Mnemosyne flashcards.
5. Continuously review flashcards.

At the high school level, this method worked out okay for me, as I was able to become a decent low-level generalist and do well at regular difficulty tournaments. The Wikipedia-Google Docs-Mnemosyne chain also seemed to help me with learning and retention. But now that I am a freshman in college, I know that the game is much more difficult. Is it still effective to flashcard, or more generally, continue with my study method from high school? I am no longer trying to generalize, but rather focus on Religion, myth, and history.
Jon Suh
Wheaton Warrenville South High School '16
Harvard '20
Red Panda Cub
Wakka

Re: How to Study Quiz Bowl at the College Level

Post by Red Panda Cub »

The basic cycle for getting good at a knowledge based activity is, yeah, assemble information -> remember information. Your method, assuming you've found it successful so far, should continue to be effective. Make sure you also read books as part of the "assemble information" step.
Joey Goldman
Oxford '17
City, University of London '19
Skepticism and Animal Feed
Auron

Post by Skepticism and Animal Feed »