How's the scene in Indiana? (plus a couple other questions)

This forum is for anyone seeking advice on starting a collegiate team, branching out into new types of tournaments, or other "how-to" aspects of collegiate quizbowl.
Twentington
Kimahri

How's the scene in Indiana? (plus a couple other questions)

Post by Twentington »

Hi everybody! I know there was a post along this same line in the past couple of years, but I'd like to ask this so I have a better picture of what things are like before I take the plunge.

I'm currently a freshman at Ball State in Indiana. I did scholastic bowl for all four years of high school in Illinois, and I want to keep that going, but there's no team here right now.

First of all, how big a thing is quiz bowl in this part of the country? I don't want to start a team if there's no active teams around.

My next big question: how exactly do I go about getting a team off the ground? I know the requirements for starting a student organization at BSU; my problem, in a nutshell, is finding interested people. I've only been on campus for a month, and I still don't know that many people. I'd definitely like to find some interested upperclassmen (especially because Ball State requires officers for all student organizations, and I'm not 100% sure I can handle the bulk of it myself), but I don't even really know where or how to start drumming up interest. Along the same lines, how do I go about finding a faculty advisor?

Lastly, how expensive is it generally to get a quiz bowl team going?

Any tips would be much appreciated. Thank you very much!
Evan Hatfield, Ball State University
Rococo A Go Go
Auron

Re: How's the scene in Indiana? (plus a couple other questi

Post by Rococo A Go Go »

Twentington wrote:Hi everybody! I know there was a post along this same line in the past couple of years, but I'd like to ask this so I have a better picture of what things are like before I take the plunge.