New Team at CSU Long Beach?

This forum is for anyone seeking advice on starting a collegiate team, branching out into new types of tournaments, or other "how-to" aspects of collegiate quizbowl.
Jaystriker7
Kimahri

New Team at CSU Long Beach?

Post by Jaystriker7 »

Hey all, I am a student at California State University, Long Beach (it's a port town in the southern LA area). I competed on the Stevenson High School team in the Chicago area during my freshman year in high school, but I've been inactive since.

I've been considering beginning a team at my university. I don't know too much about the resources I require to begin such a team, or about other teams in the Los Angeles area that may be active; it is to my understanding that Scholastic Bowl is much more active in the east, and that it is very different from California quizbowl. Can anyone provide me with a sense of direction of any kind? Links, people to contact and any advice (from experiential or official sources alike) would help.

User reminded to add signature. -mgmt
Andrew S.
2006-08 Daniel Wright Junior High School Scholastic Bowl (IL)
2008-09 Adlai E. Stevenson High School Scholastic Bowl (IL)
2012- California State University, Long Beach (team pending)
deserto
Wakka

Re: New Team at CSU Long Beach?

Post by deserto »

NAQT has an in-depth guide to starting a college team.

So. Cal teams who have attended tournaments within the last year include UCSD, UCLA, the Claremont Colleges, Cal. Tech., UC-Riverside, UC-Irvine, and maybe some others (I only looked at stats for a few tournaments); teams from ASU and Berkeley also made the trip to So. Cal. for tournaments last year. So, there is apparently a fairly active circuit in your school's region. Auroni Gupta and Chris Chiego at UCSD and Dwight Wynne at UC-Irvine, if they are all still at said schools, which I believe they are, might be helpful people to contact.