MIT asked to help host Q-Unlimited regionals

Old college threads.
Kaisuopai
Lulu

MIT asked to help host Q-Unlimited regionals

Post by Kaisuopai »

Hi all,

I'm an MIT freshman who is filling in for Grace as tentative "president" of the MIT QB club. I recently received a request from another freshman, who works for Q-Unlimited, asking whether the MIT QB team could reserve some rooms for Q-Unlimited to host a regionals tournament at MIT.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe Q-Unlimited is the high school QB organization, run by Chip Beall, that hosts the NAC. I used to play a tournament similar to theirs in high school, have lurked these forums, and have skimmed their website - I am somewhat loath to have the MIT QB team be associated with them in any way. But should I reject their request for hosting, just because of their bad reputation and the fact that I think their questions are terrible? Hosting these regionals may bring some revenue to the MIT QB club, which currently has monetary issues, and might also raise some publicity for quizbowl at MIT overall, which we kinda need.

I do not know whether I should just let them have some rooms while making it abundantly clear that the MIT QB team has nothing to do with the matter, or to reject their request out of hand, because I'm afraid I'm somewhat biased in the matter. Do the more experienced members here have any suggestions?

Thank you much,
-Kai Ma
-redacted-
Sir Thopas
Auron

Re: MIT asked to help host Q-Unlimited regionals

Post by Sir Thopas »

I'd reject them outright and hold another HS tournament in the QU one's stead.
Guy Tabachnick
Hunter '09
Brown '13

http://memoryofthisimpertinence.blogspot.com/
Marble-faced Bristle Tyrant
Yuna

Post by Marble-faced Bristle Tyrant »

What Guy said, at least the first part.
Farrah Bilimoria
Formerly of Georgia Tech and Central High School (Macon)
Mechanical Beasts
Banned Cheater

Post by Mechanical Beasts »