ACF Regs discussion

Old college threads.
dtaylor4
Auron

ACF Regs discussion

Post by dtaylor4 »

as I figure that people will want to comment on it, I will post my personal thoughts about the tournament.

As a freshman, I felt that it was hard, but not insanely hard. I felt there was a good balance in the difficulty.

In terms of distribution, I did hear complaints about the history distribution, but other than that I had no complaints about the questions. Much kudos to the editors on both accounts.
Rothlover
Yuna

Post by Rothlover »

This should probably be in discussion, dude.
Dan Passner Brandeis '06 JTS/Columbia '11-'12 Ben Gurion University of the Negev/Columbia '12?
AKKOLADE
Sin

Post by AKKOLADE »

Rothlover wrote:This should probably be in discussion, dude.
Which is why I just moved it :)
MLafer
Rikku

Post by MLafer »

Just a few brief things before the discussion gets underway:

Our sincerest apologies to Maryland B: they did have several of their questions used in the packet credited to Texas, but somehow their names did not end up on the final packet.

Yes, we know that Raphael did not paint Innocent X.

As for history distribution, I was in charge of history questions, and I agree that it did tend to skew in certain odd ways (an abnormal number of questions on popes, for example). To put a positive spin on the issue, this was a result of me trying to use as many of the excellent tossups that were submitted as I could; that is just what people happened to write. I want to give a big hand to all of the teams that submitted packets to us; this was uniformly the best set of submissions I have ever seen for a tournament, and it made our job as editors much easier.

Thanks also to my co-editors, Mike Sorice and Chris Romero, who I immensely enjoyed working with, to Zeke Berdichevsky for writing us a packet and for reading over some of the questions at odd hours of the day, and to Subash Maddipoti for also reading over some questions.