women in Quiz Bowl

Dormant threads from the high school sections are preserved here.
studentjournalism101
Kimahri

women in Quiz Bowl

Post by studentjournalism101 »

hi.

I'm a student journalist who has a couple questions about women in quiz bowl. Please include your age,name,gender and quiz ball team, if possible. Thank you for your cooperation! Below are several questions:

Why are there so many fewer women than men in quiz bowl (especially considering so many coaches are women)?

Are there differences between the way women play and the way men play?

Are men and woman treated differently in quiz bowl?

Are the questions, like trash, more geared toward a male players?

Is the atmosphere of quiz bowl sexist?

thanks again - Georgia Richardson
MLafer
Rikku

Re: women in Quiz Bowl

Post by MLafer »

i think dan passner can answer these
Gonzagapuma1
Tidus

Post by Gonzagapuma1 »

studentjournalism101 wrote:quiz ball
Dan Puma
Alum: Gonzaga, Montgomery College, University of Maryland
Currently Unaffiliated
MAQT President-ish, 2014-2015
Champion of the Modern World, 2014
Former Member, PACE
The Time Keeper
Auron

Post by The Time Keeper »

Paging Ryan Westbrook to thread #5371.
Pat Freeburn - No particular affiliation.
Auks Ran Ova
Forums Staff: Chief Administrator

Post by Auks Ran Ova »

Gonzagapuma1 wrote:
studentjournalism101 wrote:quiz ball
Rob Carson
University of Minnesota '11, MCTC '??, BHSU forever
Member, ACF
Member emeritus, PACE
Writer and Editor, NAQT
Down and out in Quintana Roo
Auron

Post by Down and out in Quintana Roo »

I will say that i have heard many many teams make sexist comments during competitions, especially for the "all girls team." There is often an aura of low expectations surrounding female players too, clearly a sexist attitude. And that "they only know Literature" or equivalents.
Mr. Andrew Chrzanowski
Caesar Rodney High School
Camden, Delaware
CRHS '97-'01
University of Delaware '01-'05
CRHS quizbowl coach '06-'12