Usually, when a team answers bonus questions, the first answer given is the only accepted answer. When an inexperienced member on our team blirted out a wrong answer, we were upset, but we never tried to argue that his answer should not be accepted because he is not the captain.
In one match, we played a team who had a member who did the same thing: blirting out the answer directing it at the moderator. Their captain, however, said, "He's not the captain, please ignore it" and eventually got the points.
I feel that they (and we) deserved the points, but if you strictly follow the rules, they should not have gotten the points.
Can a captain veto a teammate's answer?
Edit: Both happened at last week's NAQT state championship.
Teams may confer on bonuses. It is recommended that the captain give the answer for the team or clearly indicate who will give the answer. The moderator, however, will take the first answer unambiguously directed at him or her. If conflicting answers are directed at the moderator, the captain will be asked to choose the team's answer.