Page 1 of 1

2016 NAQT Missouri Qualifier - March 5 at Columbia College

Posted: Sun Nov 15, 2015 2:47 pm
by ScoBo
Cross-posting from the Missouri Quizbowl Message Board. Updates, including the current field, will be updated there more frequently than here.

The Missouri Quizbowl Alliance invites all MSHSAA-registered high school Scholar Bowl teams to participate in the 2016 NAQT Missouri Qualifier, which will be held on the main campus of Columbia College on March 5, 2016. Please note that while the tournament is still in Columbia, this is a different location from previous Qualifiers.

The Missouri Quizbowl Alliance is an organization dedicated to providing high-quality quizbowl tournaments to all Missouri teams. As MOQBA's flagship event, this tournament regularly features a diverse field of teams from throughout Missouri, recognizing the state's top teams for national tournament qualification in a fast-paced championship atmosphere. Jeffrey Hill and Matt Chadbourne will serve as the tournament directors.

This tournament will be run in the twenty tossup/bonus format on NAQT Invitational Series #154. This question set is not expected to be assigned to any other tournaments in Missouri, but teams are still responsible for ensuring that they attend no more than one tournament using IS-154.

For more information about the tournament, see the full announcement on our website, which includes a link to the registration form. Please complete that form to register for the tournament. Registrations will be processed in the order they are received through this form, and will not be accepted via any other method. This tournament traditionally fills very quickly, so we strongly recommend that you reserve your spots now.

We hope to see your teams in Columbia in March and wish you the best of luck as you compete this season. If you have any questions about the tournament, don't hesitate to ask us at [email protected].

Re: 2016 NAQT Missouri Qualifier - March 5 at Columbia Colle

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:27 am
by ScoBo
Thank you once again to the 36 teams that attended the 2016 NAQT Missouri Qualifier on Saturday, making it the largest Qualifier to date! We hope that you enjoyed participating in the tournament as much as we enjoyed directing it!

After round 9, Hickman A, Washington B, Washington A, and Rock Bridge A advanced to the superplayoffs, while the remaining championship tier teams played round 10 placement games. After round 10, Washington B and Rock Bridge A both had losses to Hickman A and Washington A, so their scheduled round 11 game was effectively for third place, which Washington B won 340-265. Hickman A and Washington A were undefeated, effectively starting a best of three final. Washington won the first game 340-280, then Hickman won the next game 395-285, setting up a third winner-take-all game. With only a 45 point lead going into the last tossup, Hickman picked up the tossup after Washington answered incorrectly, winning the final game 365-285 to claim the 2016 NAQT Missouri Qualifier title!

For the small school title, Hallsville A and Centralia A both advanced to the overall championship rounds, with Hallsville A finishing in sixth place overall and Centralia A in twelfth place. The separation of six places was just enough for Hallsville A to claim their fourth consecutive NAQT Missouri Qualifier small school title without a final!

Links to the complete statistics are available at

The top 15% (6 teams) qualified for the NAQT High School National Championship Tournament on May 27-29 in Dallas. Congratulations to Hickman, Washington A and B, Rock Bridge A, Savannah, and Hallsville A for qualifying at this tournament. St. Joseph Central and Helias have already qualified one team each at previous tournaments. (In fact, all eight of these teams are already registered to attend HSNCT!) Because this is the official NAQT State Qualifier for Missouri, a bid is awarded to the top team that had not previously qualified. Congratulations to Helias for qualifying a second team to HSNCT after Helias C overcame a 25 point deficit going into the last tossup of the ninth place game to win that game 245-240!

Of our 36 teams, we had a tournament record 12 small school-eligible teams, continuing Missouri's tradition of strong quizbowl participation by smaller schools. The top 30% of small school teams (4 teams) have also qualified for the NAQT Small School National Championship Tournament on April 29-May 1 in Chicago. Congratulations to Hallsville, Centralia, Pilot Grove, and Wellsville-Middletown for qualifying for SSNCT!

Since this tournament is platinum certified by PACE, the top 25% (9 teams) qualified for the PACE National Scholastic Championship in Chicago on June 4-5. Congratulations to Hickman A, Washington A and B, Rock Bridge, Savannah, Hallsville, St. Joseph Central, and Helias A and C for earning bids to NSC!

During the awards ceremony, we presented the fifth MOQBA Award for Outstanding Student Involvement to Washington juniors Matt Chalem and Joe Stitz for their many efforts to encourage participation in quizbowl by elementary and middle school students. We thank Matt and Joe for their work to promote quizbowl to younger students, and look forward to recognizing more outstanding students in the future.

Thanks to all of our wonderful staff who made this day of 179 quizbowl matches possible, including Mercedes and Brittany from Hallsville; Sherry and Franziska from Hickman; Joanna from Rock Bridge; Scott from St. Joseph Central; Susie Thierbach, Melanie Bush, Audrey, Evan, Elise, and Zoe from Washington; coaches Ginger Luetkemeyer, Ryan Kennedy, Scott Allen, Kay Barnes, Michelle Oliver, Greg Irwin, and David Dennis; Allyson Lotz and Michael Menkhus from Truman State University; Diana Harmata from Mizzou; Gordon Arsenoff; and fellow Missouri Quizbowl Alliance members Jason Loy, Sean Phillips, Kevin Stockman, and Shelley Swoyer. Special thanks go to Brandon Daake, Miranda Geer, Sawyer Magnus, Holly Pletka, and Grace Ziehm for making the long trip from Southeast Missouri State University to staff the tournament, as well as Shelby Melton from SEMO for also volunteering to help us out in the control rooms, which proved to be extremely valuable to the success of the tournament; Alex Smith and Kyle Hill for not only staffing the tournament, but also performing additional duties before and during the event to make this tournament possible; Jacob O'Rourke for providing invoices and other additional help before the tournament; and former Qualifier co-director Alex Dzurick for returning from Illinois to run the Brown Hall control room.

We must also give a HUGE thanks to Columbia College for once again providing us the opportunity to use the facilities on their beautiful campus for the tournament. We could not have run a tournament of this magnitude in multiple buildings without the help of the amazing representatives from Columbia College, whose advance preparation and assistance during the tournament were critical to the success of this tournament. Thanks to all of the admissions staff who helped set up the game rooms on Friday afternoon, Dr. David Starrett, Carla Aufdemberge, and Kathleen Price for welcoming everyone to campus, and Kristen Hartmann and Kim Craig for all of their hard work and continued support to make this tournament possible all while simultaneously coordinating the other large event on campus! Everyone there has been incredibly welcoming and accommodating, and we hope all of the teams had a great experience and will be eager to return to Columbia College next year should we decide to continue hosting the tournament there.

Thank you once again for attending. We hope to see everyone again next year at the tenth annual Qualifier!

Jeffrey Hill and Matt Chadbourne
2016 NAQT Missouri Qualifier co-directors