Keeping up with current events

Dormant threads from the high school sections are preserved here.
UlyssesInvictus
Yuna

Keeping up with current events

Post by UlyssesInvictus »

So now that I no longer have the inimitable James Bradbury on my team, I'm starting to work on becoming a decent current events player, with the goal of aiming at being better at NAQT questions (I've completely forsaken geo; when you still get lost on the roads in your hometown, you know it's not for you).

I have a digital subscription to the NYT, so that's a starting point, and my friends know I'm an addicted redditor, though I admit that last one is a pretty shady place to get current events. I also capably watch TV news every so often, either local or stuff like CNN. Are there other news sources I should regularly check, like unknown blogs, twitter feeds, etc.? Study strategies would also be pretty helpful.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Raynor Kuang
quizdb.org
Harvard 2017, TJHSST 2013
I wrote GRAPHIC and FILM
Skepticism and Animal Feed
Auron

Re: Keeping up with current events

Post by Skepticism and Animal Feed »

http://news.google.com

Google will link you to a wide variety of news stories from a wide variety of sources. All of the major headlines will be covered, but so will other events. It's much more efficient than reading individual news sources.

Last time we had this thread, The Economist was widely lauded as a good magazine to pick up international news likely to come up at NAQT. But overall I think that people who read individual news sources, rather than news amalgamators, are a bit like people who own record players.
Bruce
Harvard '10 / UChicago '07 / Roycemore School '04
ACF Member emeritus
My guide to using Wikipedia as a question source
David Riley
Auron

Post by David Riley »

Some of us still have our turntables because the vinyl recordings we have, have not been released on CD, iTunes or other sources. Harrumph!
David Riley