Applying player stats

Dormant threads from the high school sections are preserved here.
rchschem
Yuna

Applying player stats

Post by rchschem »

I am interested in determining a P/N break point below which I can tell a player to sit on his hands. I know it's dependent on the question and the player, the team and opponent's bonus conversion in a match, the score, and probably some other factors.

This would be a crude guideline because of course the choice to power is a judgment call. But sometimes, as a coach, I want to be able to tell a kid to not take the risk because I know he tends to miss. Or maybe this is only a grossly predictive stat?

Right now I am thinking a successful power earns a team X points based on historical bonus conversion, but a neg costs the team Y points (both in hypothetical lost points and hypothetical gained points by the opponent). If Y is bigger than X, it's not worth it.

Eric
Eric Grunden, Research Triangle High School/NCATA
Windows ME
Wakka

Re: Applying player stats

Post by Windows ME »

I'm tempted to say from experience [re: TU/N ratios]:

- if you're the best player on your team, no worse than 2 to 1 [ideally should be higher than this]
- else 3 to 1.

The latter makes sense, I'm not sure about the number for the former. 8 TU and 4 negs is a horrible ratio. Maybe (2-to-1 minus one neg)? ie. 8/3 6/2 4/1 kindof thing? 4-2 isn't bad though. Maybe a neg cap? ie. If you're the best player, once you hit 2 negs start being conservative?

Anyway I think for sure your best player needs to be more aggressive than everyone else on the team, and can afford to neg a little bit more. If you're supporting players are negging heavily it is not in the best interest of the team.

My $0.02
Sinan U.
U of Toronto 2010
U of Alberta 2015
Cubfan125
Lulu

Post by Cubfan125 »

I've always tried to aim for about 5 to 1.
Alex Kling
Latin School of Chicago class of 2012
Williams College class of 2016
touchpack
Rikku

Post by touchpack »