What/How To Study

Dormant threads from the high school sections are preserved here.
Thenerdyjew
Lulu

What/How To Study

Post by Thenerdyjew »

Hello!
I'm new to this forum, and Quiz Bowl in general, so excuse me if me questions appear incredibly stupid.

So basically,
I'm a Freshman, and I have absolutely no idea what to study. My first tournament was yesterday, and I only averaged something like 10 points per game... Most of my points came from what I had previously known before even starting QB.
What should I be studying? I tried studying some literature and some other things on the "You Gotta Know," but they never came up in practice, so I got really discouraged! One of my coaches recommended me to writing questions, but I don't know enough about anything to really write a paragraph-long question on a certain subject. Even more than how I should be studying is WHAT I should be studying. I have no idea what's considered important or not. I could think of a billion things to know: Norse Mythology, Shakespeare, Equilibrium, RNA, World Capitals, State Birds, etc. The list goes on an on. I don't have a problem actually putting in the time to study: the problem is just that I have no idea what to study at all. Bottom line is: how should I study most efficiently and what should I study.
Thank you to all people who reply!!
Ben Cohen
Rancho Bernardo High School '14
Quiz Bowl Team and North County Academic League Team
Masked Canadian History Bandit
Rikku

Re: What/How To Study

Post by Masked Canadian History Bandit »

A good way to get a sense of what's asked about in the quizbowl "canon" is by reading older packets:
http://www.quizbowlpackets.com/
http://quizbowl.stanford.edu/archive/

Also, check out the exhaustive discussion on good study material on this very forum:
http://www.hsquizbowl.org/forums/viewto ... f=3&t=8159
Patrick Liao
Lisgar Collegiate Institute 2011, University of Pennsylvania 2015, University of Toronto Faculty of Law 2019
anderson
Lulu