Southern Teams Attending Northern Tournaments

Old college threads.
JTakang21
Lulu

Southern Teams Attending Northern Tournaments

Post by JTakang21 »

Hello all,

I'm a freshman at Mercer University in Georgia. I was just wondering if there was a precedent for teams in the South attendin tournaments particularly in the Northeast.

Thanks in advance.
Josiah Takang
Douglas County High School (GA) '15
Kennesaw State University (GA) 'xx
Jeopardy Contestant '14
Mod, ILQBM
RexSueciae
Tidus

Re: Southern Teams Attending Northern Tournaments

Post by RexSueciae »

You can attend any tournament you want--I should think that nobody will actively prevent you from travelling long distances in order to play an event that's really far away. If there's a more local site for that particular set of questions, though, it'd be advisable to just go there, since you'd save money on transportation costs. The only situation in which you might conceivably get yelled at is if you ditch a local tournament in order to play a faraway event using the same questions and as a result that local site doesn't have enough teams to have a fun tournament, although that's a case-by-case sort of thing.
Vasa Clarke

Maggie Walker '14
Virginia '18
William and Mary '21
wd4gdz
Tidus

Post by wd4gdz »

Back in the day, Florida State attended a couple tournaments at Princeton.
Billy Beyer, formerly of FSU
The Ununtiable Twine
Auron

Post by The Ununtiable Twine »

Outside of the usual national tournaments, Alabama played the main site of Penn Bowl in 2011 and the main site of QUARK in 2012.
Jake Sundberg
Louisiana, Alabama
retired
Rococo A Go Go
Auron

Post by Rococo A Go Go »

You can basically go play anywhere you would like. When I was at WKU we once drove 9 hours to Virginia for a tournament basically because we wanted to go to DC on our Fall Break.