Are you allowed to play for more than one team?

New high school teams looking for advice should post here.

Are you allowed to play for more than one team?

Postby nhscody » Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:26 am

Technically, I go to two schools, and both are going to have Quiz Bowl teams next year. I'm wondering if I would be allowed to play on both of their teams at NAQT events and History Bowl, not at the same tournament, of course. The reason that I want to do this is because one is going to History Bowl nationals, assuming they make it, which I expect they will, and the other's goal is to attend HSNCT. Is it allowed to play for two teams at different events?
Cody McKeehan
Central Academy and North High
Des Moines, Iowa
nhscody
potter wasted among his clays
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 1:25 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Re: Are you allowed to play for more than one team?

Postby Kyle » Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:53 am

I suppose it should be pointed out that History Bowl ought not to be considered a substitute for playing regular quizbowl.

Anyway, different tournament organizers will have different eligibility requirements. NAQT has their eligibility requirements posted on their website. They suggest, but do not require, that all affiliated tournaments follow their eligibility rules. So you should always make sure that you are eligible prior to competing. For purposes of the HSNCT, the relevant rule is this:

Section E, Number 6 wrote:A player with affiliations at multiple schools may compete for all such schools during the competition year, but may only represent a single school at any given tournament.

That rule indicates that you won't have any trouble with this plan.
Kyle Haddad-Fonda
Harvard '09
Oxford '13
Kyle
groom of totemic guanacos
 
Posts: 1099
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 1:16 pm
Location: Ifrane, Morocco / Oxford, UK / Issaquah, WA

Re: Are you allowed to play for more than one team?

Postby in on these shenanigans » Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:01 am

For example, Northern Illinois University in DeKalb would have no problem with you playing for either school should you pay us a visit (And you should!).
Brad Fischer
Coach, Keith Country Day School

Winnebago HS ('06)
Northern Illinois University ('10)
Assistant Coach, IMSA (2010-12)
User avatar
in on these shenanigans
groom of totemic guanacos
 
Posts: 1769
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 1:18 am
Location: Winnebago, IL

Re: Are you allowed to play for more than one team?

Postby Marble-faced Bristle Tyrant » Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:09 pm

Farrah Bilimoria
MS biology subject editor, NAQT
Georgia Institute of Technology '07-'10
Central High School '07
User avatar
Marble-faced Bristle Tyrant
iceman of Andean tears
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:05 pm
Location: Macon, GA

Re: Are you allowed to play for more than one team?

Postby The Two Hearts of Kwasi Boachi » Fri Jun 22, 2012 3:12 pm

in on these shenanigans wrote:For example, Northern Illinois University in DeKalb would have no problem with you playing for either school should you pay us a visit (And you should!).


I feel the same way here, Cody. As long as you make it absolutely clear which team you are playing for at any tournament you attend, most TDs will be perfectly fine with you playing for either school.

Also, if you want to compete at the A-set tournament I'm running on January 12, send me an e-mail and I'll send you the invitation. My e-mail is jacob.orourke.7@gmail.com.
Jacob O'Rourke
MOQBA Member, HSAPQ Host Contact
Formerly Truman State '14 and Pacific High (MO) '10


"And here we are as on a darkling plain, Swept by confused alarms of struggle and flight, Where ignorant armies clash by night."
Matthew Arnold, Dover Beach.
User avatar
The Two Hearts of Kwasi Boachi
Amazon of buried jaguars
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 8:11 pm
Location: St. Louis-area, MO

Re: Are you allowed to play for more than one team?

Postby Broad-tailed Grassbird » Sat Jun 23, 2012 12:13 am

Ethically, I personally would feel wrong if I played quiz bowl for 2 teams without full switching schools, but I'm not going to wear a black armband over someone else doing it. I'm happy that you are posting about this, because if you do choose to play for both, the community will know what's going on, as opposed to just showing up and causing people to talk behind your back or even an overblown scandal.

How many hours a week do you spend at each school, and which one at the end of the day is going to be giving you your diploma? Where do you do your other extracurriculars/what have other students in your situation done in the past in Des Moines? Just something to think about. Many state athletic commissions make athletes sit out a year if they switch schools without moving. You said "technically", which makes makes me think that you go to one school, and then are just taking courses that aren't offered at your high school at the other high school. If that's the case, then I'd consider just playing for the main one. But again, you seem to be willing to communicate to tournament directors, so since quiz bowl is more independent then other sports, you'd probably be ok.

(the following is complete hypothetical speculation)
If you do choose to play for both, they will probably go to a lot of the same tournaments, and eventually play each other. Just make sure you have the integrity to deal with that, and make sure your teammates on both sides are ok with the whole situation. Their could be some real sour grapes if you go about it the wrong way.

Best of luck.
Nalin
Scranton Middle School (2000-2003)
Brighton High School (2003-2007)
Michigan State University (2007-2011)
Semi-Retired (2012-present)
User avatar
Broad-tailed Grassbird
Amazon of buried jaguars
 
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Somewhere nice.

Re: Are you allowed to play for more than one team?

Postby dtaylor4 » Sat Jun 23, 2012 12:32 am

Broad-tailed Grassbird wrote:How many hours a week do you spend at each school, and which one at the end of the day is going to be giving you your diploma? Where do you do your other extracurriculars/what have other students in your situation done in the past in Des Moines? Just something to think about. Many state athletic commissions make athletes sit out a year if they switch schools without moving. You said "technically", which makes makes me think that you go to one school, and then are just taking courses that aren't offered at your high school at the other high school. If that's the case, then I'd consider just playing for the main one. But again, you seem to be willing to communicate to tournament directors, so since quiz bowl is more independent then other sports, you'd probably be ok.

(the following is complete hypothetical speculation)
If you do choose to play for both, they will probably go to a lot of the same tournaments, and eventually play each other. Just make sure you have the integrity to deal with that, and make sure your teammates on both sides are ok with the whole situation. Their could be some real sour grapes if you go about it the wrong way.

Best of luck.


In Iowa, there is zero organization/bureaucracy for quizbowl at the state level. No state tournament, and for 2011-12 there was no NAQT State qualifier (the 2010-11 iteration featured four teams from three schools).

As to the topic, my advice would be to square it with the two sets of coaches and players you would be working with.
Donald Taylor
Springfield, IL (no affiliation)
Illinois '09 BS Accountancy/'10 Master of Accounting Science
Freelance writer, staffer, stats guru, TD

Where is Christchurch? That's in Queensland
Where is Palmerston North? That's in New South Wales
User avatar
dtaylor4
groom of totemic guanacos
 
Posts: 3639
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:43 am
Location: Springfield, IL

Re: Are you allowed to play for more than one team?

Postby Sen. Estes Kefauver (D-TN) » Sat Jun 23, 2012 1:17 am

I'm confused about the nature of the schools you're enrolled in. Could you explain why it is you are taking classes for two high schools? Is this a case of a magnet school within a larger school?
Charlie Dees, North Kansas City HS '08; University of Missouri '12
"I won't say more because I know some of you parse everything I say." - Jeremy Gibbs

"At one TJ tournament the neg prize was the Hampshire College ultimate frisbee team (nude) calender featuring one Evan Silberman. In retrospect that could have been a disaster." - Harry White
User avatar
Sen. Estes Kefauver (D-TN)
Chairman of Anti-Music Mafia Committee
 
Posts: 5500
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:46 pm
Location: Columbia, MO

Re: Are you allowed to play for more than one team?

Postby nhscody » Sat Jun 23, 2012 12:10 pm

Horned Screamer wrote:I'm confused about the nature of the schools you're enrolled in. Could you explain why it is you are taking classes for two high schools? Is this a case of a magnet school within a larger school?


One school is a magnet school that anyone school in our district can send students to in order to take AP and IB classes. The other one is technically my main school. It is the one I will graduate from, but I'm only taking two out of eight classes there next year. By the time I graduate, I will actually have about as many credits from both of them.

The difference is, one of them is probably only going to go to two tournaments (and hopefully HSNCT) because it doesn't actually have a coach. The main school is doing History Bowl only, but the coach said he would be willing to travel for a tournament to get us used to playing Quiz Bowl (since he recruited mainly players who haven't done QB before), and he is talking about going somewhere that it is more competitive (Missouri, Illinois, etc.) so we can get practice that is closer to NHBB nationals competition, rather than Iowa, which is really noncompetitive, as you probably know. Neither team has a problem with what I'm doing (as long as it doesn't conflict, which it won't), but I wanted to make sure that it wasn't against rules. I certainly feel that playing for two schools so I can play more tournaments isn't an ethical problem. It's not like I would be the reason that either of them won, either, considering I got a total of five questions in ten games at the only Quiz Bowl competition I have went to.
Cody McKeehan
Central Academy and North High
Des Moines, Iowa
nhscody
potter wasted among his clays
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 1:25 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Re: Are you allowed to play for more than one team?

Postby Great Bustard » Sat Jun 23, 2012 3:52 pm

nhscody wrote:Technically, I go to two schools, and both are going to have Quiz Bowl teams next year. I'm wondering if I would be allowed to play on both of their teams at NAQT events and History Bowl, not at the same tournament, of course. The reason that I want to do this is because one is going to History Bowl nationals, assuming they make it, which I expect they will, and the other's goal is to attend HSNCT. Is it allowed to play for two teams at different events?


What you do regarding NAQT has no bearing on your NHBB eligibility (and I imagine the reverse is true). Basically, for NHBB, you can't play for two schools, unless you formally transfer during the year, but in your current position you can pick either one for NHBB purposes, so for NHBB at least, your plan is fine. In any case, I certainly encourage you to play both NHBB and all-subject quizbowl tournaments - the one is not a substitute for the other, but the more you play the one, the better you will do at the other too.
Also, if you are looking for Nationals level NHBB competition, I would suggest attending either our Missouri or Illinois State tournaments. Both of those will be on our "A set" (i.e. similar to Nationals in terms of caliber of questions, and some of the strongest teams in the country). That said, getting additional experience on our other two sets, each of which will be used in Iowa in 2012-13, doesn't hurt either.
David Madden
Ridgewood (NJ) '99, Princeton '03
Founder and Director: International History Bee and Bowl, National History Bee and Bowl, International History Olympiad, United States Geography Olympiad, National Sports and Entertainment History Bee
Associate Quiz Bowl Coach, Ridgewood High School, Ridgewood, NJ; NY State Masterminds Reader; Lecturer in Geography and Ancient and European Military History, ACE Quiz Bowl Camps. Team USA coach & adviser for International Geography Olympiad
User avatar
Great Bustard
groom of totemic guanacos
 
Posts: 1148
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:23 pm
Location: DC, NJ, and everywhere else

Re: Are you allowed to play for more than one team?

Postby bird bird bird bird bird » Sat Jun 23, 2012 4:09 pm

The relevant NAQT rule, incidentally, is E.6:

NAQT eligibility rules wrote:6.A player with affiliations at multiple schools may compete for all such schools during the competition year, but may only represent a single school at any given tournament.
Jeff Hoppes
President, Northern California Quiz Bowl Alliance
former HSQB Chief Admin (2012-13)
VP for Communications and history subject editor, NAQT
Editor emeritus, ACF

"I wish to make some kind of joke about Jeff's love of birds, but I always fear he'll turn them on me Hitchcock-style." -Fred
User avatar
bird bird bird bird bird
Forums Staff: Administrator
 
Posts: 4042
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 3:33 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area

Re: Are you allowed to play for more than one team?

Postby The Two Hearts of Kwasi Boachi » Wed Jul 11, 2012 1:21 am

Cody, are you playing for Central Academy for Quiz bowl tournaments and North High for NHBB?
Jacob O'Rourke
MOQBA Member, HSAPQ Host Contact
Formerly Truman State '14 and Pacific High (MO) '10


"And here we are as on a darkling plain, Swept by confused alarms of struggle and flight, Where ignorant armies clash by night."
Matthew Arnold, Dover Beach.
User avatar
The Two Hearts of Kwasi Boachi
Amazon of buried jaguars
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 8:11 pm
Location: St. Louis-area, MO


Return to New High School Teams

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest