Flashcard Resources

Packet databases and other quizbowl sites, apps, or software should be discussed here.
Terbin73
Kimahri

Flashcard Resources

Post by Terbin73 »

Hey guys, this is my first year of quiz bowl and I have been recommended to use flashcards. I was wondering what applications or websites help you guys memorize clues the most easily. So far, I've heard about Anki and Mnemosyne but I am not sure which one to use or if there are any other good applications out there. Other studying methods and resources would also be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

User was reminded to enable a signature. -Mgmt.
Sanjeev Uppaluri
Chattahoochee High School
UlyssesInvictus
Yuna

Re: Flashcard Resources

Post by UlyssesInvictus »

Hi! Welcome to the forums :)

I'm going to start off by tooting my own here, and recommending my own website quizdb.org, which has tens of thousands of prior quizbowl questions stored for searching. The website also has a resources page where a couple other common resources like AseemDB are listed. QuizDB even has exportable questions which you can use to easily make your own flashcards (Mike Bentley even made a program to do it for you here).

However, like many other players, I'd start by recommending you just read lots of packets. The best way to memorize clues is to have context for them, and the best way to do that is to just expose yourself to lots and lots of questions!
Raynor Kuang
quizdb.org
Harvard 2017, TJHSST 2013
I wrote GRAPHIC and FILM
Santa Claus
Rikku

Post by Santa Claus »

UlyssesInvictus wrote:tooting my own here
I think you misplaced your horn.